Free To Good Home

July 9, 2014

MSBAlogoThe Waffler was selected for this year’s Maine Student Book Award list, and I’m celebrating with a book giveaway. So contact me via email, Facebook message or pony express! The first ten people are winners.


My Writing Buddies

January 13, 2014

women_writersI left Brown University with something precious—a writing group. A quarter century later, we’re still going strong. This is our story.

Photo by Mark Ostow


Thanking All Readers

November 26, 2013

D2729A young reader liked the Thanksgiving dinner chapter in The Waffler. Here is her thank you note, reprinted verbatim.

“Dear Mrs. Donovan, My favorit part was when they all went around the table saying what they were all thankful for. I liked when big A showted that she was thankful for turky! I am thankful you read the book to us. Sincerly, Emily G.”

I am thankful for readers.


The Waffler, Compliments Of The Author

October 17, 2013

Waffles_with_maple_syrup_and_butterSorry, it’s not free waffles. But for any teacher who reads The Waffler to their class, I offer a free author visit via Skype. Let’s talk!


What’s Essential? The Waffler

October 9, 2013

small_The_WafflerThe Horn Book counts The Waffler one of “four fresh, age-appropriate, and accessible school stories that will please early-elementary readers.”


The Waffler On Goodreads

September 27, 2013

small_The_WafflerFeeling lucky? Sign up for a chance to win a free copy of The Waffler on my Goodreads Giveaway. Last chance October 17. Good luck!


Solid Is The Waffler Word Of The Day

August 19, 2013

The Waffler a novel by Gail Donovan

“A solidly realistic school and family story for fans of Louis Sachar and Claudia Mills.”—The Horn Book

“A solid middle-grade choice—no waffling necessary.”—Kirkus Reviews


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.