The Waffler

A Chapter Book by Gail Donovan

ISBN: 978-0803739208
Publisher: Dial
Binding, Price: Hardcover, $16.99, e-book
Ages: 7+

Monty is a waffler—he can never make up his mind, which always gets him in trouble. That’s how Monty ended up with a rat for a pet, and he can’t even decide on a name for him!

When each student in his fourth-grade class is assigned a kindergarten buddy and some kindergartners get left buddy-less, Monty takes them under his wing. But when his teachers find out, they give him an ultimatum: choose just one buddy, or have none at all.

One thing Monty does know—this stinks! Will he be able to finally stop waffling and do the right thing, before everything spins out of control? With laugh-out-loud scenes and comically drawn characters, Donovan gets the agony–and the tremendous fun–of elementary school perfectly.

Order from Amazon 

Awards & Accolades:

“A solid middle-grade choice—no waffling necessary.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A solidly realistic school and family story for fans of Louis Sachar and Claudia Mills.” —The Horn Book

“The book captures the pains and pleasures of being both a twin and a fourth-grader.” —Booklist

6 Responses to The Waffler

  1. […] next book, The Waffler, is about twins. I know what I’m talking about, because I am one. “This Twin Stayed […]

  2. […] Kirkus Reviews on The Waffler: […]

  3. […] lucky? Sign up for a chance to win a free copy of The Waffler on my Goodreads Giveaway. Last chance October 17. Good […]

  4. […] Book counts The Waffler one of “four fresh, age-appropriate, and accessible school stories that will please […]

  5. […] it’s not free waffles. But for any teacher who reads The Waffler to their class, I offer a free author visit via Skype. Let’s […]

  6. […] young reader liked the Thanksgiving dinner chapter in The Waffler. Here is her thank you note, reprinted […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: